Chautauqua preservation society


The Mission of the Chautauqua Preservation Society is: 

  1. To be an advocate for the restoration, preservation, maintenance, and use of the Waxahachie Chautauqua Auditorium and Getzendaner Park

  2. To produce events (including an annual Assembly at the Chautauqua Auditorium and Getzendaner Park) that encourage lifelong learning and have the goal of improving the mind, body and spirit through a mixture of experiences in the arts, education, religion and recreation

  3. To gather and disseminate historical and current information on the Chautauqua movement


Kirk Hunter, President
Arlene Heintz, Treasurer
John Smith, Secretary
Maureen Moore, Program Chair
Louis Brown
Kay Dunn
Marty Hiles
Kevin Strength
Arthur Sweeney
Art Torpy
Jane Vineyard

member organizations:

The Chautauqua Preservation Society is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization. It is a member of the following organizations: 

Waxahachie Chamber of Commerce

         Waxahachie Downtown Merchants Association

Chautauqua Trail A network of active Chautauquas from across America. Learn more... 

Our Background:

 The Chautauqua Preservation Society was first formed in 1974 at the time of the renovation and rededication of the Waxahachie Chautauqua Auditorium. The five members of the board of directors at that time were Waxahachie residents: Josephine Ruskin, Ed Miles, Marvin Singleton, Jr., Martha Jane Bryce, and a very young lawyer named Steve Chapman. The new organization's stated purpose was to further the restoration and maintenance of the Chautauqua Auditorium and the grounds surrounding it. In 1994, after a long period of inactivity, the Society was dissolved by the State of Texas.

In 1999, 25 years after that magnificent Chautauqua Auditorium restoration effort, the Chautauqua Preservation Society was revived. Steve Chapman was the sole surviving member of the original organization and we were fortunate to have him sitting on the board of the revived organization also. Other board members in 1999-2000 included: Fred Weldon, Betty Weldon, Beth Price, Alice Sklar, Melissa Salmon, Scott Salmon, Holly Young, Buddy Young, Kirk Hunter, and Maureen Moore. Their dedication to Chautauqua remained true to the original Chautauqua Preservation Society. Their mission included not only the preservation of the Chautauqua Auditorium and grounds but also the providing of cultural and educational programs in the style of the old Chautauqua. They aimed to continue the Chautauqua legacy that was begun in Waxahachie in 1900.


Cheri and Jay Adams
Eric and Karen Bassett
George and Ginger Cole
Bob and Sherry Dyess
Mike and Nancy Fenton
John and Arlene Hamilton
Arlene Heintz
Maureen Moore and Kirk Hunter
Rhonda Lowrey
Dr. and Mrs. Henry Lucksinger
Patsy and Bill Major
Margaret Newport
Theresa Peel
Harold and Jane Vineyard
Carlela and Andy Vogel
John C. Wray

Harold and Anne Clark
James Fincher
Mary Louise Goehring
Clyde and Sharon Haggard
Ellen Hays
Nancy Hightower
David and Paula Hudgins
R.G. and Carlita Huff
Joe and Jan Jenkins
Fritz and Jeanne Kuehn
Dr. David and Margo Lewis
Gretchen and Bob Lewis
David and Peggy Linguist
Drs. Priscilla and Stan Parker
Jack and Beth Price
Beverly and Jack Robinson
Robert and Peggy Schoolfield
Max and Earlene Simpson
John and Susie Smith
Kars and Grace Tamminga
Martha Weedon
Fred Weldon
David and Margie Wiss

Bruce and Tamsin Boardman
Louis and Linda Brown
Jerry and Shirley Chapman
Steve Chapman
Sharon Cooper
Joe Gallo
Greg and Valerie Gorman
Susan Kosoris
John and Marcia Luther
Al and Maggie Maples
Brian and Ramona Norman
Pearman Oil & Gas
Matt Perkins
David and Pat Smith
Nan Udell
David and Suzanne Walker
Waxahachie Community Theatre
Beth Young
Robert and Holly Young